Welcome to Cincy Music Series!

Cincy Music Series is presented by The Greater Cincinnati Performing Arts Society.

The new 2017-18 concert series begins in September, artists include:

  • Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder – September 23rd
  • John Pizzarelli – October 21st
  • Texas Guitar Women – November 18th
  • Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – January 13th
  • Big Bad Voodoo Daddy – February 17th (pending) 
  • Time Jumpers – April 7th


Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder

Bluegrass and country music legend, Ricky Skaggs kicks off the new season with the Kentucky Thunder.

Skaggs was born in Cordell, Kentucky. He started playing music at age 5 after he was given a mandolin by his father, Hobert. At age 6, he played mandolin and sang on stage with Bill Monroe.

Skaggs’ first all-live album with Kentucky Thunder, Live at the Charleston Music Hall (2003), led to an IBMA Award for Instrumental Group of the Year – an award Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder has taken home 8 times in the last decade. The all-star lineup of Kentucky Thunder includes Paul Brewster (tenor vocals, rhythm guitar), Scott Mulvahill (bass, bass vocals), Russ Carson (banjo), Jake Workman (lead guitar), Mike Barnett (fiddle) and Dennis Parker (baritone vocals, guitar).

John Pizzarelli

Texas Guitar Women